Reviews

Review of The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

Posted 31/07/2013 20:01

Trailer review

This movie looks very interesting and has sparked me to read the novel/series. It has a very interesting plot and hopefully will be brilliant when it hits cinemas, I can't wait to go see it in theatres soon! Effects look good. I've heard that Demi Lovato sings the song accompanying this film, 'Heart By Heart', which is another reason I want to see this!

Review of Monsters University

Posted 09/07/2013 15:32

Monsters University is probably the best animation I have ever seen. It has excellent visuals and really gains the audiences attention! The film also has an amazing twist at the end of the last event at the scare games which changes the expected ending completely!

Review of Outpost: Rise of the Spetsnaz by Andrew Taylor-Smith

Posted 27/06/2013 12:52

The popular Outpost franchise gets a third outing with a prequel, OUTPOST : Rise of the Spetsnaz, an origins story rooted in the aftermath of WW2.

After the short prologue, we join a Russian unit (The Elite Special Forces known as the Spetsnaz) whilst on a stakeout mission for Nazi blood. They're a rag tag bunch; disguised in part by the garments of fallen Nazis - sporting their wardrobe and Nazi insignia. They make easy work of the first wave of unsuspecting Germans, but just as their leader discovers some sinister paraphernalia they are out gunned by a backup fleet sporting more hardware that sends them fleeing to the forest.

Their leader, one Dolokhov is captured and taken to the experiment chamber of an underground bunker where the origins of this action packed saga come to light. Followers or the previous two films will appreciate the attention to detail that director Kieran Parker and trilogy writer Rae Brunton have cultivated here. It's subtle enough not to indulge one too much in what we've already come to like about the series. Several characters emerge in numerous Zombie guises recognisable in the labyrinth of shudder-some corridors. It's not long before the unit are pitted against the sinister and barbaric regime orchestrating their evil deeds and using them as test subjects for something far more inhuman and sinister.

What transpires is the most action heavy of the series so far. It sports a high body count and some well executed fight sequences and the sound design and score needs a mention for its impact that heightens the big screen experience. There's even time for some witty one-liners and dry sense of humour with the occasional Russian proverb - trouble never comes alone...

It's not without its less shining moments. The ending, although brutal came about too quickly and easily. A potentially life-saving amount of weaponry would have helped our assailants to safety was never used. They dispose of the Nazi's with mere firepower and some combat when there was an entire army at the Reich's disposal. This spoiled it for me. That said it is not a dull film, not in the slightest. It just had too much action and not enough danger placed on the surviving Russians.

This marks Kieran Parker's directorial debut after story writing and producing the previous two films, Outpost and Outpost: Black Sun. It's a commendable turn, particularly in the action sequences. The central performances are strong too. Bryan Larkin's Dolokhov has huge presence, his seemingly imperious demeanour showing signs of cracking under the terrors. He's hulking, stoic and commanding. Meanwhile Michael McKell's sneering Strasser, the unhinged Nazi overlord is brimming with a measure of the sadist and eccentric.

It leaves it open for a sequel. Some may welcome it but will the zombies rise again or has it been a good series needing to resign from the Outpost?

Review of Epic

Posted 12/05/2013 17:40

Epic in 3D

Epic in 3D is amazing because throughout the film things are constantly coming out of the screen and there was always a thing or two to laugh about! The 3D experience was much better in this film than it was in any other film I have ever seen!

Review of Mud by Moeez

Posted 28/04/2013 21:20

Super fun, modern Americana Huckleberry Finn adventure!

Just saw Jeff Nichols' MUD at Sundance London (April 28th).

Just a super fun, modern Americana Huckleberry Finn adventure! Check it out if you liked Stand By Me. Jeff Nichols on a hat-trick. Lighter in tone to Jeff Nichols' previous movies, but it gets damn intense at the end where you care enough about the characters to appreciate the gravity. Fantastic cast of child and adult actors, great sunny visuals, and again great music by David Wingo with some of Ben Nichols' songs. Yes, McConaughey does go shirtless lol. The child actors were brilliant, I knew Tye Sheridan looked familiar (he was in Tree of Life which had the same producer as Mud). The audience loved smartass but pragmatic Neckbone (yes, that's the character's name), laughing at pretty much everything he said.

Review of War Horse by Sads Reldas

Posted 03/03/2013 17:50

War Donkey

I sat wide-eyed and speechless through War Horse. Not because I was impressed, but because the entire premise of the movie was ridiculous. There were certainly some heartwarming occurrences of kindness and heroism among the grotesque carnage of The Great War, but the unbelievably fortunate horse in the title role of this squishy mess would have received a merciful bullet through the head way before anybody would have called a ceasefire to cut it free from the barbed wire.

Why The Great Spielberg would spend so much time and money on this elaborate and obvious Disney-style tear-jerker I really have no idea. In a 2012 interview he said that The Great War is "merely a backdrop", and that the story is less about war and more about "the connectivity an animal can bring to human characters". If that's true he could have saved millions by dropping The Great War altogether and using a contemporary police station as the setting for an emotional tale of a crime-busting partnership between a young cop and his uncannily perceptive mount. Police Horse. But that could never be "epic" enough to attract an Oscar. The direction, the production, the costumes and all the technical aspects of War Horse are brilliant, but they are just sugar on a sh*t sandwich for me.

Review of Warm Bodies

Posted 19/02/2013 22:33

Awesome

I thought this film was a very imaginative film in which the actors play their roles very convincingly. It touches the heart in ways only truly touching films can and shows how we must not judge a book by it's cover. I thoroughly enjoyed the film and would recommend it to all my friends- but not my mum who hates the idea of a zombie apocalypse.

Review of The Wee Man

Posted 10/02/2013 22:49

Excellent film - great acting. Shame it's got an 18 certificate as it should be shown to younger people who might think being a gangster is a glamorous career choice. This film demonstrates that it certainly is not.

Review of The Wee Man

Posted 09/02/2013 21:49

Gritty and Gripping

A fascinating, and sometimes horrifying, story which grips from start to finish. Brilliantly acted by all the major players. Reminiscent of The Kray Twins, but better

Review of Will by Jean

Posted 16/12/2012 23:49

OMG, what a beautiful film. We all loved it, not a dry eye in the house.

Must buy a copy to send to my Liverpool mad son in Australia.

Buy or rent it, settle down with your family and enjoy

Please note that although the UK cinema release date schedule on FilmDates.co.uk is updated regularly, a release date can change at very short notice. Usually the closer a film is to its release date, the less likely it's release date (and any other information) will change.
FilmDates.co.uk is also not responsible for the content of any external website. The links are provided "as is" with no warranty, express or implied, for the information provided within them.



Last update was at 07:56 24th April 2014