Reviews

Review of Transformers: Age of Extinction by Mohit

Posted 03/07/2014 23:12

Awesome Action and Entertaining

The movie is awesome the action is mind blowing and jaw dropping, music epic. All in all a must see movie.

Review of The Fault in Our Stars by Lucie

Posted 30/06/2014 20:58

The best film ever!!!

Review of Vampire Academy by thecolourofinfinity

Posted 28/05/2014 19:47

It's a bit of fun...

This film is an amazing whirlwind of emotions but the main storyline is based on friendship which is so often lacking in movies aimed at teens these days. While there is a large proportion of the story based on romantic situations, the main idea is Rose and Lissa's friendship which is what essentially saves the day. This is an amazing film and I recommend you watch it whether you have read the books or not.

Review of Believe by p man

Posted 20/05/2014 12:53

This film is a fantastic drama of the 80s which reminds me of my 'jumpers for goalposts' days.

Review of Arjun & Alison by spyder

Posted 26/04/2014 20:48

Brilliant thriller... Monique was wicked!

Review of The Maze Runner by Lauren

Posted 19/03/2014 17:17

Im 13 and I found this book really, really good! It is one of my favourite books! I can't wait to see the movie! :D

Review of The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

Posted 31/07/2013 20:01

Trailer review

This movie looks very interesting and has sparked me to read the novel/series. It has a very interesting plot and hopefully will be brilliant when it hits cinemas, I can't wait to go see it in theatres soon! Effects look good. I've heard that Demi Lovato sings the song accompanying this film, 'Heart By Heart', which is another reason I want to see this!

Review of Monsters University

Posted 09/07/2013 15:32

Monsters University is probably the best animation I have ever seen. It has excellent visuals and really gains the audiences attention! The film also has an amazing twist at the end of the last event at the scare games which changes the expected ending completely!

Review of Outpost: Rise of the Spetsnaz by Andrew Taylor-Smith

Posted 27/06/2013 12:52

The popular Outpost franchise gets a third outing with a prequel, OUTPOST : Rise of the Spetsnaz, an origins story rooted in the aftermath of WW2.

After the short prologue, we join a Russian unit (The Elite Special Forces known as the Spetsnaz) whilst on a stakeout mission for Nazi blood. They're a rag tag bunch; disguised in part by the garments of fallen Nazis - sporting their wardrobe and Nazi insignia. They make easy work of the first wave of unsuspecting Germans, but just as their leader discovers some sinister paraphernalia they are out gunned by a backup fleet sporting more hardware that sends them fleeing to the forest.

Their leader, one Dolokhov is captured and taken to the experiment chamber of an underground bunker where the origins of this action packed saga come to light. Followers or the previous two films will appreciate the attention to detail that director Kieran Parker and trilogy writer Rae Brunton have cultivated here. It's subtle enough not to indulge one too much in what we've already come to like about the series. Several characters emerge in numerous Zombie guises recognisable in the labyrinth of shudder-some corridors. It's not long before the unit are pitted against the sinister and barbaric regime orchestrating their evil deeds and using them as test subjects for something far more inhuman and sinister.

What transpires is the most action heavy of the series so far. It sports a high body count and some well executed fight sequences and the sound design and score needs a mention for its impact that heightens the big screen experience. There's even time for some witty one-liners and dry sense of humour with the occasional Russian proverb - trouble never comes alone...

It's not without its less shining moments. The ending, although brutal came about too quickly and easily. A potentially life-saving amount of weaponry would have helped our assailants to safety was never used. They dispose of the Nazi's with mere firepower and some combat when there was an entire army at the Reich's disposal. This spoiled it for me. That said it is not a dull film, not in the slightest. It just had too much action and not enough danger placed on the surviving Russians.

This marks Kieran Parker's directorial debut after story writing and producing the previous two films, Outpost and Outpost: Black Sun. It's a commendable turn, particularly in the action sequences. The central performances are strong too. Bryan Larkin's Dolokhov has huge presence, his seemingly imperious demeanour showing signs of cracking under the terrors. He's hulking, stoic and commanding. Meanwhile Michael McKell's sneering Strasser, the unhinged Nazi overlord is brimming with a measure of the sadist and eccentric.

It leaves it open for a sequel. Some may welcome it but will the zombies rise again or has it been a good series needing to resign from the Outpost?

Review of Epic

Posted 12/05/2013 17:40

Epic in 3D

Epic in 3D is amazing because throughout the film things are constantly coming out of the screen and there was always a thing or two to laugh about! The 3D experience was much better in this film than it was in any other film I have ever seen!

Please note that although the UK cinema release date schedule on FilmDates.co.uk is updated regularly, a release date can change at very short notice. Usually the closer a film is to its release date, the less likely it's release date (and any other information) will change.
FilmDates.co.uk is also not responsible for the content of any external website. The links are provided "as is" with no warranty, express or implied, for the information provided within them.



Last update was at 07:38 29th July 2014