* × Change Settings

We are using cookies to provide statistics that help us give you the best experience of out site, You can find out more or switch them off if you prefer. However, by continuing to use this site without changing settings, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.


Review of Molly Moon and the Incredible Book of Hypnotism by Frosty

Posted 02/04/2016 18:56

Molly Moon Review

British children's comedy drama starring the talented Raffy Cassidy (Athena in Tomorrowland). Molly aquires a book that has the power to choose who can become a master hypnotist, with this she sets off to change things for the better, but all does not go according to plan and Molly heads to London, encountering fame, fortune and villains before learning the power of loyalty, love and friendship. Aimed at the tween/preteen audience it provides ample entertainment and fun. Adults may find the humor passes them by. Overall worth a watch and much better than some (mainly American) reviews suggest.

Review of Men and Chicken by LawTurley

Posted 06/12/2015 18:10

Another ATJ masterpiece of black humour...and insanity

OK. Admittedly, I'm biased. I'm an enormous fan of Anders Thomas Jensen's movies and pretty much adore everything he's ever made or been even tangentially involved in, but up until now I was very firmly of the belief that 'Blinkende Lygter' was and would always remain my favourite of ATJ's movies. That was until I saw 'Mænd & Høns' and fell completely and traitorously in love.

A perfect balance of black (oh god so so black) humour and pathos, this movie is a testament to ATJ's wonderfully deft touch with both. The characters, surreal and ridiculous as they are, are played with such humanity and conviction, that one cannot help but love them all, every last weird, disgusting one of them. As dual-lead, David Dencik is both loathsome and pathetically lovable as Gabriel. Nicolas Bro is a delight as always as the loquacious over-sharing Joseph, as is an almost unrecognisable Søren Malling as Franz. However, whereas it's normally Nicolaj Lie Haas that takes the comedic football and runs uncontested for the touchline, 'Mænd & Høns' is (definitely) Mads Mikkelsen's movie. As the compulsively masturbating, bombastic Elias, Mikklesen reaps the lion's share of the comedic lines, delivering them with such incredible timing and bravado you can't help but think he missed his vocation when he opted for a career as leading-man/heart-throb over bumbling idiotic funnyman.

I can't say enough good about this film. Watch it as soon as a UK release is available. Talk about it until there is. Petition your local cinemas. Buy 'Mænd & Høns' t-shirts and bore your friends. I know I will.

Review of Destiny

Posted 07/08/2015 15:21


Really a feel good summer film.

None of that negative stereotypical depiction of Jamaica.

Several great laughs and the music is cool

Review of Selma by alij

Posted 19/01/2015 23:23

Riveting, angering, compelling

Wow! Just watched this as a screen unseen showing. A bit slow in parts but basically, you want and need to keep watching, just to understand and hope that what should be every persons natural right, becomes that right. Tinged with horror at our human race, sadness at the brutality and deaths but happiness at the achievements of so few for so many. Brilliant acting, not one 'bad' performance. Explains a part of history, that I only knew a little of. I was two at the time. Thank you!

Review of Alf Engers aka The King by paul alexander

Posted 28/12/2014 17:05

alf engers

Just watched Ray Pascoe's film about Alf Engers. Great film which captures why Alf was the King. Excellent research and Ray has managed to give credit to the ability Alf had. Very sad that Alf was treated so badly by the cycling authorities of the day, especially as the film shows Alf had great humanity and only wanted to progress himself and the sport of cycling, something that the authorities of the time never managed to do.

If you were around in the 70's and into the time trialling scene you will love this film.

Review of Radiator by Ellis Jones

Posted 17/10/2014 22:00

Outstanding New British Movie

This film tells a simple but enthralling story brilliantly, centred on a quirky, extraordinary couple living in somewhat chaotic retirement in a small Cumbrian village. The actors are all superb - Richard Johnson and Gemma Jones in particular justify their reputations as two of our finest, most respected artists. Brilliantly directed and shot, the film is hugely moving without being at all sentimental, the script laced with wonderful, surprising humour. Chains like Picturehouse and Curzon should be fighting for the distribution rights.

Review of What We Did on Our Holiday by Tyson

Posted 23/09/2014 19:47

A very funny feel good movie

A brilliant cast, including the kids, set mainly in the fabulous scenery of Scotland, this will make you laugh, bring a tear to your eye and is one of those films that you could happily watch again.

Review of Sex Tape by Amelia

Posted 22/07/2014 02:54


I saw this yesterday with my partner and it had me in pieces. I was laughing the majority of the way through. Definitely a must see film!

Review of Transformers: Age of Extinction by Mohit

Posted 03/07/2014 23:12

Awesome Action and Entertaining

The movie is awesome the action is mind blowing and jaw dropping, music epic. All in all a must see movie.

Review of The Fault in Our Stars by Lucie

Posted 30/06/2014 20:58

The best film ever!!!

Please note that although the UK cinema release date schedule on FilmDates.co.uk is updated regularly, a release date can change at very short notice. Usually the closer a film is to its release date, the less likely its release date (and any other information) will change.
FilmDates.co.uk is also not responsible for the content of any external website. The links are provided "as is" with no warranty, express or implied, for the information provided within them.

Last update was at 09:00 23rd October 2016